Personal

Jeffree Star “Androgyny” Palette review

Okay, so I’ve been sat in my bed for the past hour and a half trying to think about what I could write as my first blog post. I’ve made countless drafts which all seem to sound like what my dating profile would be if I made one. So after much back and forth, I decided to write about what I know best in this world, make up. And not only will I be talking about makeup for my first blog post, I will be talking about the total queen of a human being, Jeffree Star. *insert giant URGH*

This man could do no wrong when it comes to makeup. The liquid lipsticks, the highlighters and now the palettes that have been carefully carved and sculpted from heaven above. Now, I am someone who will buy anything that Jeffree releases because I know that whatever it is, it is made with love and quality and lets be honest they’re always fucking banging.

Today I will doing a review of the new “Androgyny” palette recently released by Jeffree Star Cosmetics. It was released on the 4th of March 2017, and you know I got this bad boy the day it launched. It currently retails for £40 ($45) and if you’re in the UK, you can order from BeautyBay.com where you can get free next day delivery if you spend over 40 quid.

IMG_2133

So lets start off with the packaging. Right away you can tell its a product from the Jeffree Star collection, as it has the signature hot/bright pink casing. I love how sturdy and durable the actual palette is, even though it only has a magnetic lid. Inside it comes with a giant mirror which is perfect, unless you’re me and you always end up poking you makeup brushes or fingers in the pans by accident just because you’re the clumsiest person ever created.

Now for the shades themselves. I literally can’t with these colours. Ok so at first glance, this palette is A LOT more wearable than the shades that came in the beauty killer palette. There are 7 matte shades and 3 shimmery shades. The sizes of each pan is literally so generous, I can’t see myself getting the dreaded silver tan circle of death anytime soon. The names of each shades, in order from left to right, are:

-Frosting, Safe Word, Charm, Deja Vu, Dominatrix, Androgyny, Fetish, Military, Poison and Swallow.

IMG_2136IMG_2137

I thought I’d add photos of the shades with and without flash, so you can really see just how pigmented they are both naturally and with lighting and a decent camera.

The texture of these shadows are unlike anything I have every felt before. They feel so buttery and rich, and almost ‘velvet’ like. The smallest dab of a brush almost feels like too much. When I say these things are pigmented, I am not joking. My personal favourites in the palette have to be Charm, Dominatrix and Androgyny. The blending needed for these eyeshadows are minimal. You don’t need to put a lot of elbow grease in with these eyeshadows like you do with other brands *cough* Urban Decay *cough*. I personally believe anyone of any skin colour or hair colour or even eye colour could make a beautiful eye look from this palette alone.

Overall, I have nothing bad to say about this palette. You can tell a lot of time and thought went into this product and the colours are incredible. For the price you pay, you really are getting your moneys worth. As for the people who refuse to buy anything from Jeffree Star Cosmetics just because of who it is, and all the false and over dramatic accusations made against him, have fun with your cracked lipstick and dry eyeshadows queen. 

Love, 

Megan Rose Wing

x

 

Leave a Reply

